Terra Chalberg 

terra_hi_res_blue.jpg

After graduating from UCLA and working in film development, Terra Chalberg began her publishing career in 2002 at Scribner. Later, at Simon & Schuster and Simon Spotlight Entertainment (now Gallery), she edited and acquired a diverse list of projects.

As an agent, she represents a range of fiction and nonfiction writers, including Allison Amend, finalist for the Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature and author of Enchanted Islands; Elise Blackwell, author of The Lower Quarter; Victoria Fedden, author of This Is Not My Beautiful Life; Margaux Fragoso, author of the New York Times and international bestseller Tiger, Tiger; Elizabeth Isadora Gold, author of The Mommy Group; Lori Ostlund, author of Barnes & Noble Discover selection, finalist for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, Ferro-Grumley Award nominee After the Parade, and recipient of a Rona Jaffe Award, Flannery O'Connor Award, Edmund White Award, California Book Award, and O. Henry Prize; Andrew Porter, Flannery O'Connor Award-winner and author of the Barnes & Noble Discover selection and Indie Next List pick In Between Days; Alex Taylor, author of Kentucky Literary Award-finalist The Marble Orchard; and Glenn Taylor, NBCC Award Finalist in Fiction and author of A Hanging at Cinder Bottom.

To query Terra, please email terra@chalbergsussman.com, and include a description of the project, your author bio, and the first five pages (if fiction or narrative nonfiction) in the body of the email.

 

     Rachel Sussman

A graduate of Brown University, Rachel Sussman worked as an editor at Scribner and as an agent with Zachary Shuster Harmsworth before co-founding Chalberg & Sussman. She represents a wide range of nonfiction—narrative, memoir, psychology, history, lifestyle, and pop culture—and a select list of literary fiction.

Rachel’s clients run the gamut from journalists like Mary Papenfuss (American Huckster: How Chuck Blazer Got Rich From—and Sold Out—The Most Powerful Cabal in World Sports) and Linda Hervieux (Forgotten: The Untold Story of the Only African-American Combat Unit at D-Day) to self-proclaimed mediocre mother Karen Alpert (I Heart My Little A-Holes) and DIY experts Sherry and John Petersik (Young House Love).

Rachel enjoys developing “big think” books—clients include psychology professor Hal Herzog, author of Some We Love, Some We Hate, Some We Eat: Why It's So Hard to Think Straight about Animals and Deborah Cohen, MD, author of A Big Fat Crisis: The Hidden Forces Behind the Obesity Epidemic and How We Can End It—and is proud to represent memoirists Matt Logelin (Two Kisses for Maddy), Jennifer Ridha (Criminal That I Am), and Tracy Slater (The Good Shufu)

Her list of fiction writers include Natashia Deon, author of the award-winning debut Grace, Tiffany Hawk, author of Love Me Anyway, and Kristin Waterfield Duisberg, author of The Good Patient and After.

Rachel’s projects, which include New York Times and USA Today bestsellers, Amazon Best Books of the Year, and Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selections, have been translated throughout the world and optioned by major studios and independent producers for both the big and small screens.

To query Rachel, please email rachel@chalbergsussman.com. Rachel accepts queries by email only. 

 

   Nicole James

Nicole James joined Chalberg & Sussman as an agent in December 2013. Previously she was the Foreign Rights Director as well as an agent at The Aaron Priest Agency, where she sold international and New York Times bestselling and brand name authors including David Baldacci, Robert Crais, Greg Iles, and Philip Caputo.

Primarily focused on commercial fiction and non-fiction, Nicole is drawn to plot-driven novels with relatable characters and addictive pacing, whether she's reading a white-knuckle thriller, a breezy beach read, an intense family drama, or a thoughtful young adult novel. Nicole is on the lookout for upmarket women’s fiction in the vein of Emily Giffin or J. Courtney Sullivan. She is also attracted to psychological suspense and would love to add to her list of thrillers.

On the non-fiction side, Nicole personally enjoys uplifting female-driven memoir, upmarket self-help (like The Happiness Project), and hip lifestyle books (like Amy Sedaris's I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence).

Her clients include thriller authors such as the #1 international bestseller Jorgen Brekke, and Ben Coes, New York Times bestselling author of the Dewey Andreas thriller series.

She represents young adult authors such as Nick Burd, author of The Vast Fields of Ordinary, winner of The American Library Association's Stonewall Book Award and a New York Times Notable Book; Johan Harstad, author of 172 Hours on the Moon; and Arne Svingen author of the forthcoming The Ballad of a Broken Nose, winner of the Norwegian Ministry of Culture’s Best Young Adult Literature Prize.

Nicole also represents select nonfiction, including the forthcoming memoir A Life Everlasting: The Extraordinary Gift of Thomas Ethan Gray by Sarah Gray, as well as a forthcoming pop-culture title from dog celebrity and social media star Manny the Frenchie.

To query Nicole, please email nicole@chalbergsussman.com.  Nicole accepts queries by email only. 

 

    Lana Popovic

Lana Popovic holds a B.A. with honors from Yale University, a J.D. from the Boston University School of Law, and an M.A. with highest honors from the Emerson College Publishing and Writing program. Prior to joining Chalberg & Sussman, Lana managed foreign rights at Zachary Shuster Harmsworth, where she built a list of Young Adult and adult literary authors. She is also the author of Wicked Like a Wildfire, out now from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins.

Lana’s clients include Rebecca Podos (The Mystery of Hollow Places, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins; Like Water, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins), Brittany Cavallaro (A Study in Charlotte, Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins; The Last of August, Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins), Emily Henry (The Love That Split the World, Razorbill/Penguin Random House; A Million Junes, Razorbill/Penguin Random House), Marie Jaskulka (The Lost Marble Notebook of Forgotten Girl and Random Boy, Skyhorse), Leah Thomas (Because You’ll Never Meet Me, Bloomsbury, a finalist for the 2016 William C. Morris Award; Nowhere Near You, Bloomsbury), Christian Smith (Bloody, Bloody Bakersfield series, Permuted Press), Michelle Smith (Play On, Spencer Hill Contemporary), and Danielle Mages Amato (The Hidden Memory of Objects, Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins), among others. Lana's books have sold abroad in over twenty territories and have been optioned for film and television.

With an abiding love for dark themes and shamelessly nerdy fare—Battlestar Galactica, Joss Whedon, and Lev Grossman’s Magicians series are three of her great loves—Lana is drawn to beautifully and diversely voiced Young Adult and Middle Grade projects ranging from contemporary realism to speculative fiction, fantasy, horror, and sci-fi. For the adult market, Lana represents literary thrillers, horror, fantasy, sophisticated erotica and romance, and select nonfiction. She has a particular fondness for stories set in Eastern Europe, the Middle East, North Africa, and Asia, although she also loves reading about American subcultures.

To query Lana, please send your pitch and the first ten pages of the manuscript within the body of the email to lana@chalbergsussman.com